Estate Papers of Jesus College (catalogue not yet available)
Jesus College has held properties in several counties in England and Wales. Some documents relating to properties which are no longer owned by the College have been transferred to the relevant County Record Office. The full catalogues of these papers have yet to be uploaded onto the website; researchers wishing to consult them are invited to contact the Archivist.
The following list relates to properties acquired by Jesus College before 1900.
Anglesey
The College owned Tyn-yr-Onnen farm, Llangwyllog, given in 1609, and the impropriate rectory of Holyhead, given in 1648, as well as some properties in the town of Holyhead. Most papers about these lands were transferred to Anglesey Archives in 1999, where they have now been catalogued as GB 221 WD/7. This is a link to their online catalogue:
Berkshire
The College was given Sandford and Mudd’s Farms (now Sindlesham Hatch Farm), at Hurst and Sindlesham, in 1661. All documents about these properties remain in Jesus College.
Brecon
The College was leased the Prebendary of Llangammarch in the Collegiate Church of Brecon from 1648-1729. They were also given land at Llanfihangel Nantbran in 1668, which later became known as Pwllacca Farm, Senny Bridge. There were also some lands which were supposed to be given in the 1570s by its Founder, Hugh Price, which appear never to have arrived. All documents about these properties remain in Jesus College.
Caenarfonshire
In 1668 the College was given the living of Clynnog Fawr, with its chapelries at Llanwnda and Llanfaglan. All the papers about these lands were transferred to Gwynedd Archives in 1999. It is not known whether they have been catalogued or not.
Cardiganshire
The College owned five farms at Nantcwnlle and Llanddewi Brefi. They were bequeathed by the College’s second Principal, Griffith Lloyd, in 1586, and came into the college’s possession in 1615, after the death of his widow. The College was also given the living of Llandysul in 1680. Most of the College’s papers about these lands were transferred to Ceredigion Archives in 1999. They have not yet been catalogued, but currently have the Accession Number 1144.
Carmarthenshire
The College owned several properties in or near the borough of Carmarthen. These included the priory estate, including the Old Priory, given in 1681, and several houses which were bequeathed in 1713 as part of the estate of Edmund Meyricke (see Merionethshire). Most of the College’s papers about these lands were transferred to Carmarthenshire Archives in 1999. It is not known whether they have been catalogued there or not.
Denbighshire
In 1624, Jesus College acquired land at Llangynfagel from its then Principal, Sir Eubule Thelwall. Most of the College’s papers about these lands were transferred to North East Wales Archives in 1999, where they have been catalogued as DD/DM/1359. This is a link to their online catalogue:
https://www.newa.wales/collections/getrecord/GB209_DD-DM-1359
Essex
In 1616 Jesus College was given a third of a rent charge on a property in Ipswich in Suffolk. In 1623 the College was bequeathed a property in Brentwood called “The Cock” and land in Shenfield. Most of the College’s papers about these lands were transferred to Essex Record Office in 1999. This link suggests that the records appear not to have been catalogued, and not to be available to the public:
https://www.essexarchivesonline.co.uk/result_details.aspx?ThisRecordsOffSet=2&id=443848
Flintshire
In 1624, Jesus College acquired land at Nannerch from its then Principal, Sir Eubule Thelwall. In 1626 the College was granted the right of presentation to Holywell Vicarage in Flintshire. Most of the College’s papers about these lands were transferred to North East Wales Archives in 1999 (see above under Denbighshire), and were catalogued with the Denbighshire collections held there.
Glamorgan
The College has owned several properties in Glamorgan. In 1668 Sir Leoline Jenkins, then Principal bought property at Llantrisant with money left by his predecessor Francis Mansell. Then Jenkins himself, on his death in 1685, bequeathed to the College the manor of Moulton, including Moulton and Whitton Farms (both later divided) in Llancarfan parish, Sutton in Wenvoe, and Lydmore (formerly Lidmerston) Farm in St. Nicholas; and other lands in Eglwysillan and Caerphilly. In 1859 the College purchased Corntown Farm, Ewenny.
Meanwhile, coalmines had developed from the early 18th century onwards on several of the more northerly of the College’s Glamorganshire farms. These included Tor-Y-Coed and Rhiwfelin Fach in Llantrisant, and Ty Maen and Duffryn Isaf on the left bank of the River Taff in Eglwysillan. The Nantgarw Colliery, a southerly extension of Duffryn Isaf, developed during the late 19th century.
All documents about these properties remain in Jesus College.
Gloucestershire
Jesus College owned several lands in Gloucestershire, as follows:
Rent charges on various properties in Churchstanway, Woodstanway, Taddington, Pebworth, Uckington, Harwick, Elmstone and Boddington, acquired in 1629
Tithes of Bridgworth, acquired in 1664.
Brick House (also College Farm), Dumbleton and Wormington, acquired in 1685 as part of the bequest of Sir Leoline Jenkins.
Six Chimneys Farm, Alstone, Cheltenham, acquired in 1726.
College Farm, Badgeworth, acquired in 1766.
Most of the College’s papers about these lands were transferred to Gloucestershire Archives in 1999. The documents relating to Alston have been catalogued as D8285, and their online catalogue may be found here:
https://catalogue.gloucestershire.gov.uk/records/D8285
Herefordshire
In 1602 the College was given Sydcombe Carm, in the parishes of Clifford and Dorstone. Another property at Dorstone, Lower Crossway Farm, was acquired in 1618. All documents about these properties remain in Jesus College.
Merionethshire
The College was bequeathed several properties in Merionethshire in 1713 as part of the estate of Edmund Meyricke (see Carmarthenshire). Most of the College’s papers about these lands were transferred to North East Wales Archives in 1999 (see above under Denbighshire), and were catalogued with the Denbighshire collections held there.
Monmouthshire
Jesus College was bequeathed Stokes Farm, Llanfrechfa and Llangattock, and property in Caerleon, later known as the Tollgate Land, in 1633. Llwyn-y-Celyn Farm, Cwmcarvan, in the manor Manor of Trelleck, was given to trustees in 1730 for the use of the College. All documents about these properties remain in Jesus College.
Northamptonshire
All the College’s property in Northamptonshire has been situated in Plumpton and Woodend. Woodend Manor house, and land in Plumpton and Woodend, given to the College in 1687 as part of the bequest of Sir Leoline Jenkins. Some land which became part of Oakley Bank Farm was acquired in 1769. Plumpton Manor Farm and Rectory Farm were acquired in 1846 and 1858 respectively. All documents about these properties remain in Jesus College.
Oxford City
The College acquired the lands which form its central site in the rectangle created by Turl Street, Market Street, Cornmarket, and Ship Street, in a gradual and piecemeal way, from 1571 onwards. All documents about these properties remain in Jesus College.
Oxfordshire
All the College’s Oxfordshire properties were in and around Bampton and Weald. College Farm was acquired for the College in 1687 by Sir Leoline Jenkins’s executor, whilst Ham Court Farm and Backhouse Farm were both bought in 1865, and Castle Farm was bought in 1871. The College also purchases other, smaller, plots of land in Bampton in the later 19th century. All documents about these properties remain in Jesus College.
Surrey (now Greater London)
The College was bequeathed two properties in Lambeth, Cuper’s Gardens and The Hopes, by Sir Leoline Jenkins in 1685. All documents about these properties remain in Jesus College.
Livings owned by Jesus College
Jesus College has also owned several livings in England and Wales, as follows:
Furtho, Northamptonshire., given in 1675.
Wigginton, Oxfordshire, given in 1685.
Rotherfield Peppard, Oxfordshire, bequeathed by Sir Leoline Jenkins in 1685.
Nutfield, Surrey: a partial right of presentation acquired by Jenkins’s executors I 1685; the remainder of the advowson bought in 1746.
Longworth, Berkshire (now Oxfordshire), bought in 1691.
Remenham, Berkshire, bought in 1691.
Tredington, Worcestershire, bought in 1713.
Shipston and Newbold, Worcestershire, bought in 1713.
Scartho, Lincolnshire, given in 1716.
Aston Clinton, Buckinghamshire, bought in 1727.
Braunston, Northamptonshire, bought in 1727.
Bagendon, Gloucestershire, given in 1816. This was given in exchange for the College’s right to nominate a curate to Cheltenham.
Charlton Kings, Gloucestershire, was owned by the College between 1832 and 1888.
Plumpton, Northamptonshire, given in 1846.
All documents about these livings remain in Jesus College.
The College also owned the following livings in Wales:
Holywell, Flintshire (acquired 1626).
Holywell, Anglesey, with Bodedern and Bodwrog (acquired 1648).
Clynnog Fawr, Caernarvon, with Llanwnda and Llanfaglan (acquired 1660).
Llandysul, Cardigan (acquired 1680).
Llandow, Glamorgan (acquired 1736).
The College lost its patronage to these livings because of the disestablishment of the Church of Wales in 1920, and documents about them have largely been given to the relevant record office.